How To: Create Pinterest-Worthy Handwriting

I’ve recently started becoming more creative with my handwriting and presentation in general, in my school work, when I’m just doodling and also when I’m making cards or anything crafty. I am by no means an expert in this area, however, practice does make perfect and these examples just show where I am at the moment.

One type of writing which I really love is brush writing. This is meant to imitate writing with a brush or calligraphy pen, I think and this is how I do it:

  1. Firstly, I write a normal letter using any pen you’d like. In this example I went for a H, using a red Stabilo Pen 68 felt tip.DSC_0070.JPG
  2. Then, simply work out which parts of the letter you move the pen downwards on. At first this may take a while and some thinking for each letter, but soon it sort of becomes second nature. Below, I have shown this with some arrows:DSC_0071
  3. Then just thicken the lines where the pen moves downwards. You can choose to fill in the thickened part or not, it is completely up to you and that is the beauty of it.DSC_0073
  4. After that, you can progress to writing whole words and with practice, it will become easier and easier. Just try using it every now and again to spice up a card or piece of work and you’ll be surprised at how much it can improve the presentation of your pages.DSC_0075

For some more examples of brush writing, visit my posts about my bullet journal here.

DSC_0105

One thought on “How To: Create Pinterest-Worthy Handwriting

Leave a Reply

