Quick and Easy Fruit and Oat Smoothie Recipe

I usually make a smoothie for breakfast on the weekends, when I have a bit more time (although they don’t take much time to make) and especially when I wake up later and just want a light breakfast.

This morning I experimented a bit and it tasted pretty good! So here’s the recipe…

background-berries-berry-blackberries-87818

Ingredients

1 banana

Squirt of honey

1/2 pear (optional)

Dollop ice cream or yogurt

Splash of milk

Handful of frozen/fresh fruit (I used a mix of frozen raspberries, strawberries and blueberries)

Sprinkling of oats (optional but makes smoothie more filling!)

bananas.jpeg

Method

Pretty simple really, just whiz everything together in a blender! I usually start with the banana, honey and milk, then slowly add the other fruit, oats and ice cream/yogurt.

Handy Tips

Sometimes when you use frozen fruit or ice cream, the end product is freezing cold (I get brain freeze pretty easily). To avoid this, warm the milk a bit in the microwave before adding it to the mixture.

It’s always nice to buy fresh fruit, but if you want it to last a bit longer, you can easily buy frozen fruit from the supermarket. I have a tropical mix with melon, pineapple and mango as well as the one I used in this smoothie with raspberries, blueberries and strawberries.

 


Leave a Reply

